SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

The SSC CHSL (Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level) exam is conducted in three tiers, each designed to assess different skill sets required for various posts like Data Entry Operator (DEO), Lower Divisional Clerk (LDC), Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA), and Postal Assistants/Sorting Assistants (PA/SA). Here’s a detailed overview of the exam pattern for each tier:

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

Tier I: Computer-Based Examination (Objective Type)

  • Mode: Online
  • Duration: 60 minutes (80 minutes for candidates eligible for scribes)
  • Number of Questions: 100
  • Total Marks: 200
  • Sections: 4 (25 questions each)
  • Negative Marking: 0.50 marks for each wrong answer
Section Number of Questions Maximum Marks Duration
General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 Combined
General Awareness 25 50 60 minutes
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50 (total)
English Comprehension 25 50

Tier II: Descriptive Paper

  • Mode: Pen and Paper (Offline)
  • Duration: 60 minutes (80 minutes for candidates eligible for scribes)
  • Total Marks: 100
  • Format: Descriptive (Essay/Letter/Application writing)
  • Language: English or Hindi
Type of Paper Maximum Marks Word Limit Duration
Essay 50 200-250 words 60 minutes
Letter/Application 50 150-200 words

Tier III: Skill Test/Typing Test

The Skill Test/Typing Test is qualifying in nature. It is conducted for specific posts and assesses the candidate’s proficiency in data entry and typing.

  1. Skill Test for Data Entry Operator (DEO)
    • Test: Data Entry Speed Test (DEST)
    • Speed Requirement: 8,000 Key Depressions per hour
    • Duration: 15 minutes
    • Data Entry: Candidates are required to type 2000-2200 key depressions in 15 minutes
  2. Typing Test for LDC/JSA and Postal Assistant/Sorting Assistant
    • Typing Speed Requirement:
      • English Typing: 35 words per minute
      • Hindi Typing: 30 words per minute
    • Duration: 10 minutes (30 minutes for candidates eligible for scribes)

Important Points to Note

  • Normalization: Scores of candidates will be normalized to account for any variation in difficulty levels across different shifts of the Tier I exam.
  • Qualifying Marks: There are minimum qualifying marks in Tier II, which candidates must achieve to be considered for the next stage.
  • Document Verification: Candidates who clear all the tiers will be called for document verification.

Preparation Tips

  • Tier I: Focus on speed and accuracy. Practice with mock tests and previous years’ papers.
  • Tier II: Improve writing skills in both essay and letter formats. Practice writing within the word limit and time frame.
  • Tier III: Develop proficiency in typing and data entry through regular practice.

This structured approach will help candidates effectively prepare for each tier of the SSC CHSL exam.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

SSC Coaching Centre in Chennai